To Aid An_ Cage

2004-02-05 - 7:02 p.m.

zapped!
INteresting confrontation today. I went to the big new Canadian Tire that moved from a five minute walk from my house to inaccesible Markham. Who the fuck would ever go to Markham unless they were going to buy a microwave for their mother's Birthday? Certainly not me. So I was getting a microwave as stated before, and while getting it (or looking at all of them and deciding), Liam (who drove me there) and I noticed a rather ungifted secret security shopper standing very noticably in the middle of the hall way and watching a target. Being a former hardcore shoplifters, who probably would have tried to steal the microwave if we hadn't reformed our ways after a mishap in Charlottetown that very nearly brought my summer of fun to an early end (deep breath), Liam and I started laughing at him. He was all crouched down in the middle of the big walkway and peering through a display. This guy had amateur asshole written all over his face in a neon light attachment he probably had custom made with his first paycheck, if he had even gotten one yet.

So I pick out the microwave, which I hope my mom will like and try out tomorrow after I give it to her (deep breath), and was taking it to the front of the store to buy. Liam coughs as we pass the guy--in a way that would suggest he was on to him, and the guy follows us up to the cash and starts hassling us as if it's his job! The first mistake we made was to forget the reality of our appearance and location. Dressed like the kids in our hearts and basically in a farmers old field, that got covered in cement and molded into a nation wide, industrial department outhouse. We also started with the back talk, that I felt was warranted since I wasn't being arrested for appliance theft and was actually making a rather large capital purchase. I told him to fuck off, and he did, so I finished my transaction and chatted with the girl helping me--trying to atleast not have a terrible experience, then we left with the box on my shoulder. I put it in Liam's trunk and went around to my door. Back in the store, I could see some managerial fuck looking at me, so I flashed him the big bird and held it out, as if presenting it to him like money earned or something. SO then two managers and the runt come out and make their stance on the side walk in front of their store. Needless to say there was an altercation that involved foul language being screamed from both sides, and my attempt to aggresivly return my purchased product, which was stopped by a threat to call the police. I was now tresspassing and had to leave, apparently, and could return my purchase at any Canadian Tire. They acted out a phone call to the police and stated our appearance and license number over the phone. We left with our fingers out the window. I was so fired up in the car that I was just talking shit with Liam--HAHA--we were hysterical and knew we had been wronged, but could really only laugh, because as lowly consumers we had no real rights, right? I got home and called around, or actually Ashley called me from work. I told her all about it and she told me what to do, which was sort of what I was planning but without the firebombs and balaklavas. I called around the Directory of Canadian Tire numbers in the phone book until I found one that was an actual person. I got the number for the store I was just at (which wasn't in the phone book, it was so new) and called them, saying I wanted to file a 'compliment', as Ashley suggested, and would like to know the names of the two gentlemen that matched my description. The girl gave me the info, The GM Angelo Garcia, and Asst. Store Manager Jay White. I hung up and looked in the book again. This was the best I could do. I called the customer relations number and stated a detailed complaint to the women who answered. I left my information and wondered what would happen. I'm wondering what will happen. At least they will get a write up I hope, or I may get some sort of PEACE. Normally I never make large purchases without inciting a large altercation, but this time I was going to take it easy. I guess this stuff just finds me. I don't know what else to say. I'd still be up for some window smashing fun, but to what end. I think I've already done really all I can do as an actual, truthful consumer, but if you know of more please let me know. It was the highlight of my day--something real; an actual confrontation, even! WOW! Things are looking up.

PEACE - Tristan


before || after

hosted by DiaryLand.com