To Aid An_ Cage

2005-01-27 - 8:44 p.m.

landed
landed loaded down in the deserted paved place--small airport Sydney. The flight from Toronto was easy. I met Jade--the girl I was told would be on my flight--and found her quite easily. She is tall, half Scottish, half Indonesian, beautiful, and the first person I would meet from my core group of fellow volunteers I would be spending the next seven months with. A good start. She is now terribly sick and throwing up in the basement of our little house in Ch�ticamp, but that is another story. I am tired of writing. I have already written a whole group e_mail to probably all the people that read this diary. Other people are probably waiting for the computer. If you aren't on my e_mail list just send me an e_mail to aidan_cage@*****ver.com, or aidan_cage@h******.com and I will add you on. I'll probably just end up copying and pasting those letters to this site, but I hope I have more to say on here than on there.
SO I landed in Halifax, met some more folks from my group--all nice people, and caught my short flight from Halifax to Sydney, NS. It was in a vaery small twin engine, with propellers on each wing, and sat probably twenty to twenty five people. I could see the view through the cockpit window and feel the engines through the seat. Great experience! We landed and I collected my beat up luggage. Two people--Jade was one--didn't get their luggage and would have to wait till today. There was a two to three hour bus trip after that that I was in and out of. The trip took us into the night and we arrived safely at our new doorstep. Today we had a couple workshops and toured a few of the volunteer environments we may have the opportunity to work in.
I have moved from sharing a room with three other guys to having my on little 'room' I created in a nook above the stairs. It is super cool and comfortable. I'll try to photograph it a little bit so you all can get an idea of where and how I was set up.
I am listening to some Bruce Cockburn and living it up infront of the computer. I have full e_mail and internet access, but am not yet allowed to use MSN, so write me and such. I'll write again tomorrow or the day after.

PEACE - Tristan


before || after

hosted by DiaryLand.com