To Aid An_ Cage

2005-05-16 - 9:30 p.m.

links for iPod information (working with a panga)
http://www.camerahobby.com/Misc_ipod3.htm

Sorry. I am loading my software on my billeting family's computer and trying to figure out the nitty gritty of this new technology. The above site had all the information I had been looking for basically, aside from all the beginner information that comes with the pod and is on the apple site. I have figured out how to load files that take up less space than a WAV, which takes up a lot of space and causes the hardrive to spin faster and harder which wears it out faster and harder plus draining the battery quicker. I am now loading my songs in AAC format with a bitrate of 320 bps. I have the option in iTunes turned on where it will use an error correction program to scan my audio discs for skips and fix them (I hope). It is importing a little slower than I remember, but my computer may have been faster than this one. I am crossing my fingers and hoping that I will not be able to really detect a significant loss in audio quality by using a lossey format. The WAVs are really too big. I have been able to load almost twice what I loaded in Toronto in less than a fifth of the space it took then. This is a fun toy, but I am wondering what the value of the price tag relates to the value of the product. I have heard and read many a horror story, and every little scratch I see makes me cringe. I am in the planning stages of crocheting a small pocket purse for it, but wonder the utility of a bag that I have to remove the unit from to make choices. I don't want a bought one; I want to make it, and I guess that since I will probably be using the shuffle function most often it will be fine to have it tucked away--what good would a bag with a hole in it for the click wheel really be as far as protecting it. I may eventually get one of those 'otter cases,' but only if I see one somewhere and I'm feeling spendy. I have spent the whole night loading music on here, but I really had nothing better to do. Both my billet parents were out at meetings from seven till after nine. I started working on this upload session at a little after seven and it is now a little after twelve. I had forgotten to make my lunch for tomorrow, so I quickly made it while I was loading 'Reachin'' and typed while 'Abbey Road' was loading and now I'm loading 'Miles of Aisles.' It is to bed for me after this one. I want to quickly check the quality standard, then tuck in for an early rise. Rodney from HELP wants us to start at eight in the morning instead of nine. moops!

I built a shelter today called an eagle shelter or something, because it resembles an eagle perching on its nest. I worked with Samson from Kenya and we got as far as finishing all the lattice work for the frame. We used nails, which is sort of not quite old fasioned, but everyone uses nails these days. I also used a panga, or machete to harvest caragana stalks and trim branches. Samson used it to dig holes. It can be used for a number of things and is a pretty hardcore tool. 'Honey, toss that panga over here.' I am sunburned on my face, but I've lost my glove tan. My bandanna tan needs to be fixed. PEACE - Tristan



before || after

hosted by DiaryLand.com