To Aid An_ Cage

2006-05-11 - 4:01 p.m.

Pearled Jamaica
The Pearl Jam show at the ACC ate my last two days, but not without pause for beauty and brilliance and peace. The only down is being late both days. I seem to be unable to really be on time for anything. I was only five or ten minutes late, but it eats into me when I see mild disappointment in coworkers' faces. I like to think my hard work makes up for it, and that I work hard till the end, but if I could only be on time!
The first night was long and the work hard, but A beautiful girl--named Alison--and I met and talked. She told me to come out for a beer later, left, then came back to give me her card with her e_mail so I could write to her. Nothing feels, or makes feel, better than that. Wednesday was a beautiful day. I didn't have to be in until four thirty, so I took the morning to do some errands for mother's day, and met up with Jonny and Carter in the Park. We sat talking to this really interesting man for a good time. Carter had some Djarum's so we smoked a little and enjoyed the peace of the day's season. I was five minutes late for work.
Wednesday night's show went smoothly, if for a little mix up here and there, and I seemed to have to work harder to make it through the crowds. I watched quite a bit of the show, and at one point saw a vision fairly clearly. The band was playing, and the crowd was waving lighters in appreciation, and from my vantage point I could see the individual flames light, flicker, and go out as others flickered on to replace it. It was the spitting image of the night sky, and here was the band performing at its top for it, and as the stage lights swept over the crowd I could see every head bobbing in time, like a rippling wave of space reverberating to the actions on stage. I was almost teary--the stark truth and reality that caught me in that moment, but then I was just like, 'this is a rock show.'
Eddie came up just before the doors opened and looked at the merch. It was great to see him from five feet, though he had a huge guard with him. He drew out the design for the double surfboard logo.
Evan-the-merch-guy and I ended up talking a little bit before the night was over. He was edging me to try going on the road. He told me to e_mail him about touring, so I may be getting lifted to a tour soon, or it may have just been parley. Touring with Pearl Jam would afford me school without the debt, not to mention New Zealand and Australia. Time tells me things.

PEACE - Tristan



before || after

hosted by DiaryLand.com