To Aid An_ Cage

2005-02-03 - 4:20 p.m.

paulicamp
Pauly Buns!

Nice to hear from you man! It sounds like you have a full schedule, as do I. I'm glad you are working more on your play. Your writing skills have obviously improved from your diary-writing days. I remember cringing at your grammer, but enjoying your thoughts--now I can enjoy both. The position at Ryerson sounds good, but make sure you meet with the guy you'll be assisting first to make sure he isn't a total shmuck. You don't want to dog it for someone you can't respect for who he is.
I am working at an activity center for high functioning mentally and physically challenged people, as I think I wrote about already. The first day sucked huge because I had nothing to occupy my time with other than mindless banter with the other worker, who was getting paid $15.11/hour to my volunteer time. We talked about cars all afternoon, and you know how much of an authority I am on those things. Today was better though--I brought my sketchbook along and finished a piece I had been working on (it's pretty fucked up, but I think you'll like it--if I don't give it away before you see it, which I have a tendency to do). In the afternoon I brought along a scarf I am working on. When I finished the drawing, I carried on with the scarf. Time flew by relatively fast. I got some attention for my art and my knitting skills, and found out the guys respect me and the girls think I'm cute. The other girl I'm volunteering with from my group was annoyed at the focus being on me. She doesn't seem to like me very much, or has some sort of problem with being nice and civil, but fuck her.
Things in Cheticamp move along as they should in a small town. It is above and beyond enjoyable to be here. I am wondering what it will be like to not live in a small town, but assume it will be like life has always been, which is sort of depressing. I am looking forward to coming home to a small fortune from my ODSP checks, and making plans to move out and on. I'll keep you posted on things as they come. I may get the chance to do some ice fishing this weekend. I'll let you know if I catch anything. Being vegetarian is not too hard here. They have tofu in the CO-OP and soy milk.

PEACE out brother - Tristan


before || after

hosted by DiaryLand.com