To Aid An_ Cage

2005-04-11 - 7:01 p.m.

Weyburn fridge magnetic poetry poem(letter to Joanne)
the heart did work
nearing white maritime gold
& her play rose love's river behind big still sea
through province & prairie on natural coast
I said 'imagine me winged looking free'

PEACE - Tristan




Joanne

What I was talking about briefly when we met in Estevan relates to my former PL from Cheticamp; Rebecca Huot. The issue revolves around a pair of incidents that I promised her I would follow up on once I settled into my new community. The first incident took place on her birthday. We were new to the town and program, and wanted to show her a good time. I was not involved in the evening, but a few of the participants took Reb out and bought her a few drinks to help her celebrate her special day. Later, we found out it was not appropriate, and Rebecca made a formal apology to the group and promised she would never drink publicly with participants again as it was against program protocol. For the rest of the trimester, Rebecca followed program protocol very closely, and was quick to punish a break in procedure. Which is why it was extra upsetting when the second incident occurred.

Ashley MacIsaac came to town on our last Sunday in Cheticamp. We tried as a group to find ways for everyone to attend the concert, but eventually understood that only those people of the age of majourity could go. That meant that only Shay, Stuart, and myself would be enjoying his fiddle. Rebecca stayed home with the underage participants. The show was incredible; Ashley was on fire. The three of us were bought beers by our friends in the community and we enjoyed them as parting favours from family. It was a wonderful afternoon up until the final half hour of the performance when Rebecca, our PL, showed up and poured herself a beer from the pitcher on our table. Shay, Stuart and myself had in no way encouraged her to do so, and because of this and other reasons I felt very uncomfortable with her blatant disregard for the rules. I made no mention of it at the time, but felt an extra insult when the woman who photocopied her driver�s license so that she could give Dayna and I a ride while Rebecca was on her forty eight hours off�and we subsequently each got a final warning for not having another piece of her information�pulled Reb aside upon her exit to show her what she needed to see and tried to make right what had been considered wrong. It reminded me that if I was to get in trouble for misunderstanding a rule, so should Rebecca for breaking one she herself said she would not.

At supper that night, the group brought up the incident and made it clear to her that it was not acceptable. I told her that I would do whatever paper work was necessary to see that it was not shrugged of and repeated. I am writing to you so that you can guide me through the process.

Thank you

PEACE - Tristan



before || after

hosted by DiaryLand.com