To Aid An_ Cage

2005-04-12 - 2:00 p.m.

prairie poops
I have taken a sick day. I woke up this morning in a feverish sweat.
I was delusional. I thought I was in a rock quarry of some kind
with big sheets of heavy flat rock on top of me. Pieces were
breaking off and disappearing into the void. It was six am. I
jumped off my bunk and threw on some clothes. My throat felt like
nerve-wired sand paper. It hurt to swallow. I took a vitamin and a
contact C and had some of the corn bread Brittany made with syrup and
milk. It hurt going down but tasted sublime. I lazed around on the
couches for a while and decided I would not go into work today. I
called in and left a detailed message, then went back to bed. I have
been fighting this fever/sore throat combo for almost a week now. I
made a doctor's appointment for three o'clock so I'm just typing this
out before I go.
My work is fantastic, when I'm not incredibly sick. I work at this
place called HELP International, of which I could find nothing
pertaining online, but it is a super cool job. Basically it is run
between Kenya and Canada. There is an exchange of ideas,
technologies, and work ethics that is helping to balance the rapid
loss of resources in both countries. The technologies are waste free
and sustainable, so there is a lot of fiber board made out of
recycled papers. There are some waste free toilets, and genious wyas
to grow a huge number of trees in a small space. Also some grafting
of one tree to another to have the one produce the other's fruit, and
mud hut building, and roof thatching, and brick making, and stone
carving, and art interpretation. It is physically demanding, which
is what I wanted, but also culturally stimulating and actually
interesting just in what the organization itself is doing. I have
only worked one day before taking this sick day, but already I have
helped to build a small tropical greenhouse enclosure, which I assume
is being finished today. I hope I am feeling better come tomorrow.
Other than work, we went on a small tour of the town and saw W.O.
Mitchell's house. We also went to another town called Estevan, where
another group in our cluster is living, and met up with the two other
groups for a trip to some windswept rocks and a swimming pool. It
was good for us to meet the other groups, as they had known each
other from their previous cluster, and we were the odd group out.
They seem nice enough, and there are some cool people for sure, but I
miss the group from Sydney that I have grown to love. They are in
Blind River now. We call each other.
That is it. We have plans to go to Regina on Saturday to tour some
museums and such. I am focusing on getting better, and wondering
what will be prescribed for my symptoms.

LOVE - Tristan



before || after

hosted by DiaryLand.com