To Aid An_ Cage

2008-09-28 - 3:43 p.m.

Sonnet P 61, 3
Upon a muted sea, you'll find I drift
Alone since you, my wind, had cause to leave.
My sails are breathless, though the rig does shift.
My oars refuse to pull the waters' weave.
A torturous love has stretched me on your rack,
To burn for lips as does a cigarette,
But memories of you seem the strong attack,
When coupled with your choosing to forget.
Are thoughts of me regarded as so slight
No port remains where they may dock less loathed?
Have not my ropes and rig remained as tight
As times gone by when we stretched out less clothed?
But yet you utter nothing of your plot
From where you lie amidst the graveyard lot.



This was an assigment from my poetry workshop class. It involved taking given rhyme words and composing an English sonnet with them. It was interesting, but constraining. It's nice to have pieces given, but at the same time you may want to take the poem elsewhere. The words are binding!
I'd love to read other people's sonnets, if they feel like giving this exercise a try. The words are:

drift
leave
shift
weave
rack
cigarette
attack
forget
slight
loathed
tight
clothed
plot
lot


before || after

hosted by DiaryLand.com